Gavin and Nolan Vossekuil, along with mom Amber, visited the Easter Bunny on Saturday following the Westfield Lions Club Easter candy giveaway. The bunny greeted kids for a few hours while they redeemed their free ice cream coupons at It’s Poppin’.


Bult wins judge seat by narrow margin over Cacic-Wissbaum

Marquette County voters selected Attorney Ben Bult as their new circuit court judge in Tuesday’s Spring Election, narrowly defeating his challenger, Attorney Donna Cacic-Wissbaum by 94 votes in the unofficial count reported Tuesday night.

Bult received 1,645 votes over Cacic-Wissbaum’s 1,549. The tallies stayed close all evening as the votes came in from Marquette County’s 19 municipalities. Bult’s biggest edge was in the Town of Douglas, where he received 59 more votes than Cacic-Wissbaum, while her biggest win came in the Town of Packwaukee where she claimed 73 more votes than Bult.

In all, 3,344 voters came to the polls here on Tuesday, a respectable 34% turnout.
In other races, county voters selected Tony Evers over Don Pridemore for State Superintendent of Public Instruction by a vote of 1,893 to 1,158.
For Justice of the Supreme Court, Pat Roggensack beat Ed Fallone in this county by 1,833 votes to 1,312.
Paul Lundsten was unopposed for Court of Appeals Judge, District 4, receiving 2,372 votes.

Town of Buffalo
In the contest for Town Board Chairperson, Charles Corso beat Fred Wollenburg by a count of 144-124.

Town of Douglas
Winners of the two Town Supervisor positions were Doug Parrott with 118 votes and Greg Smith with 114. Coming in third was Troy Martens with 84 votes.

Town of Mecan
For Town Treasurer, Irene Palmer won with 76 votes against Caroline Gemoll who received 65.

Town of Packwaukee
In the race for Town Board Chairperson, Al Rosenthal was the winner with 261 votes, while Don Hall received 105. The two winning supervisors were Jim Sanders with 218 votes and Joe Oravetz with 185. Coming in third place was Dale Walters with 140 votes and in fourth was Tom Bowman with 81.

Town of Springfield
For Town Supervisor #2, the winner was Larry McLaughlin with 83 votes, while Byron Henke received 72.

Town of Westfield
Karl Schulz won the race for Town Board Supervisor with 138 votes. His challenger, John Bennett, received 90.

Village of Endeavor
Two Trustee seats were available, but only one name was on this year’s ballot, Kevin D’Asto, who received 74 votes. Lisa Persack was a write-in, receiving 23 votes for the second position.

Village of Neshkoro
Shawn Reetz got 49 votes for Village President, with write-in Robert Stempinski receiving 10 votes and write-in Gerald Hebert II receiving 7. For trustee positions, winners were Thomas Krueger with 63 votes, Jeffery Luedke with 50 and Shawn Reetz with 45. Write-ins included Gerald Hebert II with 5 votes and Robert Stempinski with 4.

City of Montello
Mike Ott won the race for mayor with 218 votes against write-in Robert “Rick” Siettmann, who received 82.
In Ward 1, Bob Knickerbocker was unopposed for his council seat with 69 votes. Ward 2 had no candidate and Curtis Calnin had the most write-in votes with 7. He is expected to announce later this week if he will accept the position. Ken Streich was unopposed for Ward 3, receiving 60 votes. Joanna Christian did not file for re-election, but received the most write-ins (4) and will accept another term, according to information from the City Clerk-Treasurer.

Westfield School Board
Thomas Pintar was unopposed in his district, Village and Town of Coloma, and parts of Richford, Richfield and Colburn. He received 1,290 votes. Incumbent Brian Janke was the winner of the contested seat, representing Village and Town of Westfield, beating challenger Dominic Ferraro 1,089 votes to 491.

Montello School Board
Results from some of the outlying areas were not available at press time, but unofficially, it looks like incumbents Andy Zellmer and Kyle Hunter will be declared winners, along with write-in candidate Sara McNamara. With six municipalities reporting Tuesday night (Buffalo, Mecan, Town of Montello, Packwaukee, Shields and City of Montello), Zellmer unofficially had 989 votes, Hunter had 969 and McNamara had 232 votes. Write-in Steve Barganz showed 68 votes at that time and there were also 53 other scattered write-ins.