Candidates file for spring ballots in county

January 7th was the deadline for candidates to file nomination and other required papers to be placed on the April 1st ballot for many of the local elections in Marquette County. Following is a list of the candidates who will appear on that spring ballot.

City of Montello
Sparking a primary election in February is this year’s race for Mayor of Montello. Three candidates filed to run for that position, including former mayor Frank Breitenbach, current alderperson Joanna Christian, and Gary Doudna, local resident and owner of Buffalo Lake Camping Resort.
Also, for the first time in years, there will be alderperson candidates on the April ballot in each of the city’s four wards. In Ward 1, incumbent Don Lloyd has resigned. Seeking his seat are Jim Houdek and Vicki Johnson.
In Ward 2, incumbent Barb Jordan is running for re-election unopposed.
For Ward 3, the candidates are incumbent Ron Knutson and challenger Karlene Utke, the retired city clerk-treasurer.
In Ward 4, Todd Turner did not file to run again. Patricia Schlaefer has filed to run for his seat.

Town of Packwaukee
There are two Town Board Supervisors positions on this year’s ballot. Filing to run are incumbents Vikki Trimble and Al Wronski, along with one challenger, Jody Bowman.

Village of Endeavor
The village board will have two trustee positions on the ballot. Those running include incumbent Larry LaSure and a new candidate, Rebecca Pfile. Incumbent Jonathan Robertson is not seeking re-election.

Village of Neshkoro
Following a caucus on January 13th, candidates for the 3 trustee positions are: Incumbents Richard Dolderer, James Good and Tara L. Chesbro, along with a challenger, Gerald J. Hebert II.

Village of Oxford
All three village trustee incumbents filed for this year’s spring ballot: Richard Bohringer, Bart T. O’Brien, and Carrie L. Rozek.

Village of Westfield
Running for the three seats that are up this spring are the three incumbents: Jessika Stauffacher, Cathy Rohner, and Lucas Showen.

School District of Montello
Only one seat is up in 2014, that of Debbie Daniels, who filed noncandidacy papers. Running for her seat will be Danelle Schmidt.

School District of Westfield
There are three positions up this April, and all three incumbents will be on the ballot: Gerald Hebert II, Tom Wastart II, and Steven Janke.